top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbby

Budapest party bus: a night you won't forget...but you'll barely remember

Endless nights, friends for life. I heard those words many times when I started to talk with other backpackers once I arrived at the hostel I booked. Budapest is probably the city that has the most party hostels in Europe and people coming from all over the world. Different ages, stories, appearances which is not relevant when you travel alone and are looking for new friends. Backpacking gives you freedom, independence, and self-confidence if you are shy. A girl, with a beer in her hand, sat next to me and told me: Join us at the party bus tonight. You will have a memorable story to tell back home. I did like the idea. I love partying as much as I love culture or tours when I visit a new place. Everyone was talking about pre-drinks and getting ready for a big night. So, I couldn't miss it out.

It was a great introduction to the nightlife for a solo traveller and also an opportunity to meet new friends. I put my shyness away and signed up. The party started before the bus arrived with beer pong and music. I joined the pre-game, and I didn't realize how many people I met in less than 30 minutes.


The time to leave the hostel came. The bus is waiting around the corner and, the crew, after a "cheers" out loud, walked towards the bus. There were two big and lighter buses. The doors are closed, the fun started. The night was buzzing! Different types of music, drinks, and everyone dancing and singing along. The bus arrived at the first Budapest sight and left us in a spot with an incredible view of the city for some minutes. I joined a bunch of guys from the US, Australia, and Austria, with whom I spent the rest of my trip.

Once on the bus again, the classic ooo--ooo! eeeee-hhh! was sometimes louder than the music. Bottles to the centre, toast, and drink! People hugging each other like they were friends for a long time, laughs everywhere and happiness. The happiness you can only feel when you are travelling. Or you will discover if you decide to make a solo trip.

The next stop was across the river from Parliament. An epic scene of the Hungarian Parliament lighted at night as well as a stunning spot to take pictures. So I did, everyone did. Everyone mixed with different groups. In several pictures.

Back on the bus, the night scene was on its best part, and the music getting everyone ready to look for the next bar or club to spend the night as well as exchange numbers to stay in contact. Solo travel always brings good memories, new friends and new adventures. Also gives me the chance to know the hidden part of myself which comes up when I dare to talk to someone or join some group. Travelling reminds me every time that life could be the biggest adventure if I decide to put myself out there.

61 views4 comments
bottom of page